“Nanny Bill” would END HOME RULE by Texas cities

ALERT: HB 540 Nanny Bill up for hearing March 11

March 7, 2015 By TXsharon4 Comments

The HB 540 Nanny Bill makes cities ask permission of the state.

The HB 540 Nanny Bill requires home rule cities to ask for the Attorney General’s permission before passing a municipal ordinance. This bill was filed by Rep. Phil King in retaliation of the Denton vote to ban fracking.

Several legislators, including State Rep. Phil King (R-Weatherford), have vowed to file bills this session that would prohibit cities from banning fracking. Star-Telegram

BUT HB 540 requires the state’s permission for any “SUBMISSION OF INITIATIVE OR REFERENDUM BALLOT PROPOSALS.”  HB 540 means none of the following would be allowed without state’s permission.
PermissionFeatureImage

This bill is not just about fracking as many of our lawmakers mistakenly believe. This is a broad government overreach!

Take Action:

The most effective thing you can do is show up in Austin to speak against this bill at the hearing Wednesday, March 11, 2015.

COMMITTEE:      State Affairs
TIME & DATE:    10:30 AM or upon final adjourn./recess
PLACE:                 JHR 140
CHAIR:                 Rep. Byron Cook

Make phone calls to all committee members and sponsors of HB 540. Tell them local control is a Texan value and this bill should die in committee.

HOUSE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE:
Chair: Rep. Byron Cook (Dist. 8-Corsicana) 512.463.0730 byron.cook@house.state.tx.us
Vice Chair: Rep. Helen Giddings (Dist. 109-Dallas) 512.463.0953 helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us

Members
Rep. Tom Craddick (Dist. 82- Midland) 512.463.0500 tom.craddick@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Marsha Farney (Dist. 20-Georgetown) 512.463.0309 marsha.farney@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Jessica Farrar (Dist. 148-Houston) 512.463.0620 jessica.farrar@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Charlie Geren (Dist. 99-Ft. Worth) 512.463.0610 charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Patricia Harless (Dist. 126-Spring) 512.463.0496 patricia.harless@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Dan Huberty (Dist. 127-Houston) 512.463.0520 dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us
Rep. John Kuempel (Dist.44-Seguin) 512.463.0602 john.kuempel@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Josà MenÃndez (Dist. 26-San Antonio) 512.463.0634 jose.menendez@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Renà Oliveira (Dist. 37- Brownsville 512.463.0640 rene.oliveria@house.state.tx.us
Rep. John T. Smithee (Dist. 86-Amarillo) 512.463.0702 john.smithee@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Sylvester Turner (Dist. 139-Houston) 512.463.0554 sylvester.turner@house.state.tx.us

Bill Sponsors:
Rep. Phil King (Dist. 61-Parker & Wise) 512.463.0738 phil.king@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Ryan Guillen (Dist. 31512.463.0416 ryan.guillen@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Tony Dale (Dist. 136512.463.0696 tony.dale@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Tracy O. King (Dist. 80512.463.0194 district80.king@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Jason Issac (Dist 45512.463.0647 jason.issac@house.state.tx.us

Send an email. While this is less effective than showing up or calling, it’s better than doing nothing. See email addresses above.

DO SOMETHING!

Your city council will be Austin if HB 540 passes.

link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *