Who—or what—is paying the super-committee? (2 items)

Below this piece there is a full list of the committee’s members w/ their contact information.


Who’s Paying the Super-Committee?
George Zornick | August 12, 2011

The Congressional “super-committee” finally has a roster [1]: we now know the twelve men and women tasked with cutting as much as $1.5 trillion from the federal budget, and quite possibly restructuring entitlements and rewriting the federal tax code.

Unlike any other Congressional committee in recent memory, this “super-committee” will wield enormous legislative power. Their recommendations will be fast-tracked in Congress, meaning they cannot be amended and are guaranteed a simple-majority vote in the Senate. If the super-committee does not produce recommendations, or if Congress does not approve them, massive triggers will be activated: $1.5 trillion will be cut from the budget, drawing equally from defense and domestic spending.

With this much power concentrated among twelve people, K Street is revving up the money machine to help influence the decisions. “Every lobbyist is going to go through their Rolodex to try and figure out all the connections to the twelve members of the ‘super committee,’ ” Steve Ellis, vice president of Taxpayers for Common Sense, told [2] Bloomberg. One Democratic lobbyist quipped [3] to Politico that he was preparing for the super-committee “by writing twelve really large checks.”

Read more.


Deficit Committee Members

Sen. Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Co-chair, Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas), Co-chair Sen. John Kerry (D-Mass.), Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.) , Sen. Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.), en. Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Rep. Dave Camp (R-Mich.) , Rep. Fred Upton (R-Mich.) , Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-S.C.),Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) , Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-Calif.)



The Honorable Patty Murray

DC Phone: 202-224-2621

DC Fax: 202-224-0238

Contact Form: http://murray.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=ContactMe

The Honorable John Kerry

DC Phone: 202-224-2742

DC Fax: 202-224-8525

Contact Form: http://kerry.senate.gov/contact/

The Honorable Max Baucus

DC Phone: 202-224-2651

DC Fax: 202-224-9412

Contact Form: http://baucus.senate.gov/?p=contact/

The Honorable James E. Clyburn

DC Phone: 202-225-3315

DC Fax: 202-225-2313

Contact Form: https://forms.house.gov/clyburn/zipauth.shtml

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen, Jr.

DC Phone: 202-225-5341

DC Fax: 202-225-0375

Contact Form: http://vanhollen.house.gov/Contact/

DC Address: The Honorable Xavier Becerra

DC Phone: 202-225-6235

DC Fax: 202-225-2202

Contact Form: http://forms.house.gov/becerra/webforms/issue_subscribe.htm


The Honorable Jeb Hensarling

DC Phone: 202-225-3484

DC Fax: 202-226-4888

Contact Form: https://hensarling.house.gov/contact/email-me.shtml

The Honorable Jon Kyl

DC Phone: 202-224-4521

DC Fax: 202-224-2207

Contact Form: http://kyl.senate.gov/contact.cfm

The Honorable Pat Toomey

DC Phone: 202-224-4254

DC Fax: 202-228-0284

Contact Form: http://toomey.senate.gov/?p=contact /

The Honorable Rob Portman

DC Phone: 202-224-3353

DC Fax: 202-224-9075

Contact Form: http://portman.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact-form

The Honorable Dave Camp

DC Phone: 202-225-3561

DC Fax: 202-225-9679

Contact Form: http://camp.house.gov/Contact/

The Honorable Fred Upton

DC Phone: 202-225-3761

DC Fax: 202-225-4986

Contact Form: https://upton.house.gov/Contact/default.aspx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.